The Alto Sanitary District is a special district within Marin County.  Our purpose is to insure that the residents within the District have a serviceable collection system for transporting sewage from homes and businesses to the SASM wastewater treatment plant located near Bayfront Park in Mill Valley.  The District also administers contracts with Mill Valley Refuse Service which handles trash pick-up in the District. 

The District is governed by a five-member board of directors.  The board is an elected body with four-year terms of office from residents who live within the District.  Terms expire in December.  Compensation for directors is $100 per meeting and for the Chairman, $125 per meeting.  There are twelve regular meetings per year.

The District retains one permanent part-time staff position, that being the District Manager.  The District Manager receives an annual salary of $38,000 based on a 40 hour month.  There are no other benefits associated with this position.

Annual Compensation is available on the California State Controller's website.

Financial Information

Board of Directors    (Term Expires)

Janis M. Bosenko  President (4-yr term ending Dec 2020)

Director Bosenko was appointed to the Alto Sanitary District Board in March 2015 when long-time Board member Joyce Miles left, and was elected to the position in 2015.  She has lived in the Alto Sanitary District since 1980.  Ms. Bosenko chaired the successful "Save Horse Hill" campaign which resulted in its acquisition as part of the Alto Bowl Preserve and is now managed by Marin Open Space.  Active in Southern Marin community projects, Ms. Bosenko serves on the Sausalito Sister City Council, Cascais, Portugal.   She is secretary of IDESST, Sausalito Cultural Canter and is an active volunteer in the Marin Homeless Lunch Program at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church.  Janis Bosenko retired from the State of California in 2001 after 30 years of service.

Roger Gainer (4-yr term ending Dec 2018)

Director Gainer has been on the Alto Sanitary District Board since 2012.   Mr. Gainer works as a Chartered Financial Consultant, a licensed insurance agent, and a certified paralegal for Estate Planning and is the principal for Gainer Financial in San Rafael, CA.  He has also served  on the Boards of the Sewerage Agency of Southern Marin, Mill Valley Soccer Club, president of the Tamalpais High School PTSA, Fiscal Advisory Committee of Tamaplais Union High School District, founding member of the Government Affairs Committee of the Mill Valley Chamber of Commerce, and a Board Member and Scholarship Chair for the Mill Valley Rotary Club. As a business professional, he is a member of the NAIFA (National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors), and a past President of the local Marin/Sonoma chapter. 

Todd Gates (4-yr term ending Dec 2020)

Director Gates was appointed to the Alto Sanitary District Board in October 2015 by the Marin County Board of Supervisors.  Obtaining a Civil Engineering degree in college, Mr. Gates has worked in the infrastructure construction business for most of his career.  His work has given him experience in environmental compliance, public funding and the construction of wastewater facilities.  Mr. Gates hopes to  contribute to his community by serving on this board.

Tania Kennedy  Secretary-Treasurer (2-yr term ending Dec 2018)

Director Kennedy was appointed to the Alto Sanitary District Board in January 2017 when long-time Board member Pedro Femenia retired. Ms. Gates formerly served on the Board from 2005 to 2015.

Dr. Marc Nash (4-yr term ending Dec 2018)

Dr. Nash was appointed to the Alto Sanitary District Board in August 2017 when former President Stanley Bransgrove retired after more than thirty years of service. Director Nash has been a resident since 2012 and is a physician specializing in cancer treatment (radiation oncology.) He has worked collaboratively on many boards and commissions in the healthcare setting throughout his career. He looks forward to serving his community in this new role.


Bill Hansell - DistrictManager